News Article

By Brent Temple | 9 February

The University of Michigan was strongly represented at the recent AABB Annual Meeting (American Association of Blood Banks) held in San Diego, CA, which hosted 6000 attendees from around the world. UM faculty and staff served as directors or faculty in 19 educational programs, representing over 10% of the educational programs offered this year. UM faculty participated in a wide range of programs, including stem cell collection, transplantation, pediatric transfusion medicine, epigenetics, thrombin inhibitors, platelet testing, patient safety, and laboratory operations. Dr. Laura Cooling, who served as chair of this year's Annual Meeting Education Program Unit, was reappointed as chair for the 2012 AABB Annual Meeting in Boston. Louann Dake was reconfirmed as the chair of the Immunohematology Standards Committee. Sandra Hoffmann was reappointed to the Cell Therapy Accreditation program. Suzanne Butch serves as a standing consultant to the Coding and Reimbursement Committee.
Rate this Article: