Dr. Analisa DiFeo named 2024 Rogel Scholar

By Lynn McCain | July 3

Analisa DiFeo sq 500.jpgDepartment of Pathology faculty member, Analisa DiFeo, PhD, has been named a 2024 Rogel Scholar by Michigan Medicine. The award supports exceptional faculty dedicated to achieving impact on cancer prevention, patient outcomes, and quality of life.

Dr. DiFeo is an associate professor, director of the Michigan Ovarian Cancer Science and Innovation Consortium, and associate director for the doctoral program in cancer biology. She leads a translational research laboratory dedicated to understanding the key genetic drivers of ovarian cancer progression and translating these discoveries into the development of novel therapies that will improve ovarian cancer patient survival.

The Rogel Scholar program is one of seven funded by a $150 million gift to the Michigan Medicine Rogel Cancer Center in 2018 by Rich and Susan Rogel. The programs are intended to improve treatment and care for cancer patients; develop promising scientists; and leverage the university’s exceptional strengths in science, innovation, and patient care.

As a Rogel Scholar, DiFeo will receive three years of supplemental funding to assist in her research projects.

“I am deeply grateful for the Rogel Cancer Center’s unwavering support. This award will enable us to continue in our pursuit of multidisciplinary strategies to better understand the complex challenges presented by cancer, especially ovarian cancer,” stated DiFeo.

DiFeo joined the University of Michigan Department of Pathology in 2018 and her research lab is funded through a combination of NIH, DoD, foundation, and industry-sponsored research. In 2014, she was chosen as a Crain’s Forty Under 40 recipient and has served as a ResearcHER American Cancer Society Ambassador for the past two years. Her research has resulted in more than 70 publications and has provided opportunities for her to mentor numerous students and postdoctoral fellows.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Analisa DiFeo on this prestigious award!