Pathology Staff Elected and Appointed to ASCLS Michigan Board

By Elizabeth Walker | August 8 2019

On August 1, six Michigan Medicine Department of Pathology staff members assumed positions on the board of the American Society of Clinical Laboratory Science’s (ASCLS) Michigan chapter. As previously reported, the Blood Bank’s John Ko is President-Elect and Phlebotomy’s Jennifer Slater is Phlebotomy Scientific Assembly Chair. Additionally, Alicia Kuzia of Flow Cytometry has been elected the District 3 Representative and Ninive Costa, of the Trauma Burn Laboratory, has been elected Government Affairs Chair. The role of Leadership Development Chair has been appointed to Kristina Martin of Operations while Point of Care's Nick Wesener has been designated the Point of Care Scientific Assembly Chair. The mission of ASCLS is to make a positive impact in health care through leadership that will assure excellence in the practice of laboratory medicine. 

Ninive Costa


John Ko 



Alicia Kuzia


Kristina Martin



Jennifer Slater


Nick Wesener