Dr. Laurie McCauley Receives Krane Award

By Elizabeth Walker | September 23 2019

McCauleyLaurie McCauley, DDS, MS, PhD, received the 2019 Stephen M. Krane Award on September 20th, 2019. The American Society of Bone and Mineral Research (ASBMR) gives the award in recognition of outstanding achievements in basic, translational, or clinical research in inflammation and/or skeletal matric biology.

McCauley is the author of 173 research papers and investigates bone, including hormonal control of bone remodeling and the association of prostate cancer and bone metastases. An active member of the National Academy of Medicine, McCauley is Professor of Pathology and the William and Mary Anne Najjar Professor and Dean in the Department of Dentistry.

McCauley accepted the award, including a plaque and honorarium, during the morning plenary session at the ASBMR Annual Meeting. She joins past awardees Nancy Lane, MD; Ellen M. Gravallese, MD; and Marian F. Young, PhD.