News Archive

Thomas Giordano co-author on an international study of thyroid cancer

April 29, 2016 /

Dr. Thomas Giordano is a co-author on an international study on the reclassification of a particular type of thyroid tumor which was published in the journal JAMA Oncology.  This study has the potential to reduce over diagnosis and overtreatment of some patients with a particular type of thyroid cancer.

The story was highlighted in the NYTimes and can also be found at




Dr. Venneti named Kimmel Scholar for his cancer research efforts

April 22, 2016 / Announcement

Assistant Professor, Sriram Venneti, MD, PhD, was named a Kimmel Scholar by the Sidney Kimmel Foundation. The Kimmel Scholar Awards are given annually to 15 innovative research scientists and medical doctors in the U.S. who are in the early stages of their careers. Dr. Venneti will receive a $200,000 grant for his work, titled, “Metabolic regulation of epigenetics in childhood brain tumors.” Congratulations, Dr. Venneti, on being recognized as one of the country’s most promising young cancer researchers!


Dr. David Lombard Inducted into ASCI

April 19, 2016 / Announcement

Dr. David Lombard was inducted into the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI).

The ASCI is an honor society of physician-scientists, those who translate findings in the laboratory to the advancement of clinical practice. Founded in 1908, the Society is home to nearly 3,000 members who are leaders in academic medicine and industry. Dr. Lombard was one of only 74 new members inducted at the annual ASCI meeting on April 15th.


Dr. Scott Owens Receives 2016 Elizabeth Crosby Award

April 18, 2016 / Announcement

Dr. Scott Owens, Associate Professor, has been selected by the Galens Medical Society to receive the 2016 Elizabeth Crosby Award, presented to a faculty member in the Medical School for outstanding teaching of medical students.


New Department of Pathology Residents

April 4, 2016 /

Please welcome our new Pathology Residents who will be starting in July.


Kyle S. Conway - University of California School of Medicine, San Diego

Amanda L. Kitson - University of Toledo School of Medicine

Emily R. McMullen - University of Iowa Carver School of Medicine

Chelsea M. Styles - Northeast Ohio Medical University

Steven (Burke) Van Norman - Duke University School of Medicine

Nicholas A. Zoumberos - Tulane University School of Medicine